The Many Faces of Los Angeles

My desire to see New York in bad weather came true sooner than I expected, as I made my way to the airport amidst a light drizzle. Luckily, it was soft and pleasant, far from the stingy downpour that London often experiences. Later, when I was aboard the plane heading to Los Angeles, I realised that I love flying. I don’t even know why, but I enjoy every moment of it, from the early check-in and the rigorous security screening to the moment of take-off and the actual journey. True, the seats of the economy class are so uncomfortable that every time I try to sleep I wake up more exhausted than before. But even the slight discomfort is dwarfed by the excitement of discovering a new place.

For two days, I had the chance to discover Los Angeles. And I must admit that it left me with varying impressions. It is a vast city with many districts that couldn’t be more different from one another. Of course I couldn’t visit all regions, but even the ones I did see gave me a glimpse of the contradictions that lie at the heart of the city. This is not an official guide to Los Angeles, but rather a collection of my personal impressions and feelings.

I stayed at a hotel in the heart of Beverly Hills, and I instantly fell in love with the area. It is peaceful, elegant and posh. The majority of the population lives in large, Mediterranean villas, and even the smaller buildings and the blocks of flats bear a touch of exoticism. The shopping district consisting of Rodeo Drive, Beverly Drive and Wilshire Boulevard feature all the luxury brands you can imagine, but lack the maddening crowds of typical shopping streets. Beverly Boulevard also includes my favourite restaurant, The Cheesecake Factory. I’m warning you, their cheesecakes are addictive! And I’d recommend the white chocolate latte of The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf café as well. I had a chat with the receptionist at the hotel, and she confirmed my feelings. Life in Beverly Hills is indeed peaceful and comfortable, even if it is slightly expensive.

 

Hollywood lacks the elegance of Beverly Hills. Its main roads are lined by Mediterranean bars, fast-food restaurants and cleaning agencies. And most of all, mini retail parks. They are complexes that contain 5-6 different shops. Every few blocks, you encounter such units, and they are quite similar to each other. They usually contain a fast-food chain (on a side note, Subway is the most common restaurant there), an Asian restaurant, a supermarket and a place that cashes cheques. The area is also ethnically diverse, as indicated by the abundance of international eateries. I even found a Jewish supermarket, where all the customers except me were Russian. Hollywood Boulevard is also full of contrasts. Here, fancier restaurants stand next to dodgy underwear shops and souvenir stores. The area that contains the famous landmarks is only a tiny fraction of the whole boulevard, but the density of passengers there is tenfold.

Downtown Los Angeles was a disappointment after the distinct character of the abovementioned areas. It is a typical big city area, with nondescript skyscrapers. It is striking only in its poverty. Most shops are in fact dubious jeweller’s stores, usually offering to buy gold. There is a high number of homeless people on the streets, many of whom appear as though broken by the vain attempt to get famous. A quick walk around the city centre was more than enough for me, and, seeking a way to escape, I quickly boarded a bus to another area.

Santa Monica is a charming seaside area. You can find the typical beach-front places here, cheap eats on the colourful pier, and more elegant restaurants slightly further away. It is quite popular, as indicated by the high number of cars in the parking lot, but it doesn’t feel overcrowded. The nearness of the sea and the pleasant warmth of the sun make it a very peaceful yet fun place to spend your time in.

Unfortunately, I could only visit a tiny proportion of the vast area that makes up Los Angeles. That’s why I hope I will get the chance to return and explore its many other districts in the future.

 

 

 

Leave a comment